From CaveLab
Me, in front of a computer
Panoramic view of home office

I’m a father of three sons, the oldest two being twins. I live with my kids and girlfriend in Norway. I’m in my mid-30s and find computers with Linux, electronics and home automation things pretty fascinating. I’m also a big fan of red wine, Whisky, and cigars.

Between work and family, there isn’t a lot of time left. I use it mostly in my home office/man-cave. A 10.5 m2 (113 ft2) room in the basement, where I tinker with my homelab and electronics projects. I try to write about it.

If you enjoy my writings — there is a Atom feed link on the recent changes page.

OS of choice

  • Workstations: Arch Linux
  • Server: Ubuntu
  • Mobile: Android

My gear

The homelab and electronics lab have dedicated pages.

Web presence

Contact info

Email PGP key

My story

The beginning

My parents will tell you that my interest in computers and electronics started pretty early on. I find blinkenlights fascinating and always have… When I was 5, or 6, I got an Amstrad PC, and a bunch of cassette tapes, yes cassette tapes, with games. It was with this that I got started programming, in basic.

When I was 9, I started building a cycle trolley with a car battery, lights, and switches. Which I dragged around and improved for years until it eventually became “uncool.”

The year after, in 1993, the family got an x86 PC, with a color monitor and dot matrix printer. It was awesome; I stopped playing outside after that…

Me, in front of the family computer in 1993

On my own

I moved into my own apartment and started to build AVR microcontroller modules in my early 20’s, and it quickly became an obsession. I put them all into a control cabinet that controlled the apartment, and monitored itself; every voltage level, fuse, and module had some kind of monitoring and alert system. After a few years, it had gotten pretty big.

I went to school for two years and improved my electronics skills. After I graduated, I sold the apartment and bought a house.

Family man

After living on my own in the house for about two years, I met my girlfriend. We dated for a short while, then we rented an apartment and moved in together in her hometown. Almost a year later the twins were born — hectic times and not a lot of time for projects. In 2014, when the twins were about a year old, we bought the house where we still live.

I called dibs on a room in the basement, where I am sitting now; typing this. It’s my combined home office, man-cave, workshop, electronics lab, and server room. 10.5 m2 (113 ft2) of pure awesomeness!

In 2018 our youngest son was born, and the family was complete. I try ever so gently to push the kids towards the right interests of course; it seems to be working.